Unwavering Advocacy In Criminal Defense

The Lasting Consequences of a Minnesota DWI Conviction

At The Law Office of Jennifer L. Pradt, protecting your rights is the first priority. Many people are unaware of the consequences of a DWI.  In Minnesota, driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a criminal charge and will stay on your driving record.

Attorney Jennifer Pradt offers personal representation to protect you. DO NOT think that law enforcement, the prosecutor or the judge look out for your interests. Enlist the help of an attorney who knows how to protect your future. Call 651-243-7030 for a free consultation and find out how she can help.

 A DWI Conviction has Consequences

Because a DWI is a criminal charge, it goes on your record. It stays on your driving record. It will increase your insurance rates. This is why it is critical to understand your rights and your options for defense as soon as possible after an arrest.

First DWI Penalties in Minnesota

The penalties for your first DWI in Minnesota depend on what your blood alcohol content (BAC) is. If your BAC is over .08 but less than 0.16, then you face up to about three months in jail (90 days). You may also have to pay a fine that can be as high as $1,000. If your BAC is over 0.16, then you are facing a year in jail and up to a $3,000 fine. It is not advised to refuse the BAC test as the penalties are similar to what you would face if your BAC were over 0.16. Refusal can mean up to one year in jail and a $3,000 fine. Get answers to other DWI questions on the FAQ page.

Time is Crucial Right After an Arrest. Call Now.

Being arrested and charged is intimidating. Attorney Jennifer Pradt is here to help. She will step in and provide the advocacy you need in these serious charges. Call her St. Paul office at 651-243-7030. If your matter is not urgent, you can also send her an email or request a consultation by using the contact form. She serves clients throughout the greater Twin Cities metropolitan area.